What do the different Save options mean when working with bibliographic records in Record Manager?
- WorldShare Record Manager
Add Record to WorldCat creates a new record in WorldCat.
Add Record and Set WorldCat Holding adds the new record to WorldCat and sets a WorldCat holding by adding your library's OCLC institution symbol to the record.
Replace Bibliographic Record overwrites an existing bibliographic record in WorldCat to include your changes. Only use this when you are completely finished making changes to the record. See: Replace WorldCat bibliographic records.
The other two options are for when you're creating or editing a record and want to save your changes so you can come back to complete it later.
Save and Lock Bibliographic Record - Choosing this option saves your work in progress and locks the record so that you can come back to complete it without the concern that someone else may also edit the same record or make other changes to it before you have completed your changes. The lock will expire in 14 days on its own if you do not unlock it.
Save In-Progress Record - Choosing this option saves your work in progress and enables other users at your institution to search for the saved record and update it. Here is how to search for a saved in-progress record.
Replace WorldCat bibliographic records