Skip to main content
OCLC Support

User Tools

Find out how to access and use the User Tools window in Connexion client.

Purpose of the User Tools window

  • Assign up to ten functions to ten available generic user tools.
  • Assign a user tool to: 
    • Insert a special character or diacritic.
    • Run a macro.
    • Run a menu item.
    • Insert a text string.
  • Unassign a user tool.
  • View current user tool assignments and their default descriptions.
  • Customize the user tool description that appears in the user tool menu list and as the toolbar button tool-tip (pop-up description when the cursor is over the button).

Access the User Tools window

Assign a user tool

  1. Navigate to Tools > User Tools > Assign or press <Alt><T><T><A>.
    Or
    Use the User Tools quick tool(User Tools quick tool): Click the down arrow and then click Manage
  2. Under Display Commands for Category, click a button for a category (see a list of categories in the table below). 
  3. Select the item within the category. If a user tool is already assigned to the item, it displays in Current User Tools box. 
  4. In the Select New User Tool list, select a Tool number (1 through 10). 
  5. Click Assign Tool. If the keystroke is already assigned, the client displays the item it is assigned to in shortcut Key Assigned to. 
  6. When finished, click OK

Use assigned tools

To use user tools, do one of the following:

  • Click the command on the Tools menu: Click User Tool 1, User Tool 2, User Tool 3, etc.
  • Click the button on the toolbar: First, you must add a user tool button (User tool button 1, User tool button 2, User tool button 3, etc.)to the toolbar. Navigate to Tools > Toolbar Editor to open the Toolbar Editor window.
  • Press shortcut hot keys: Default keys are <Alt><T><T><1>, <Alt><T><T><2>, <Alt><T><T><3>, etc.
  • Click the user tool in the user tools quick tool drop-down list.

See more about how to customize keystroke shortcuts.

User Tools window: Features and buttons

Feature How to use
Display Commands for Category buttons Click one of the following buttons to select a category of items to display to which you can  assign a user tool:
  • Character
  • Macro
  • Menu Item
  • Text
Characters/Macro/Menu Items/Text list The list changes and is named according to the category you select in the Display Commands for Category.

Use this list to select an item to assign to a user tool.
Current User Tools box View the user tool currently assigned to the selected item in the list (blank if selected item is unassigned).
Description Assigned display View the default client description or the description you assign, using Modify Description, to the user tool highlighted in the Current User Tools display.
Select New User Tool list Click the user tool in the list (Tool 1 through 10) to which you want to assign the selected item.
Or
Click the user tool first and then select the item you want to assign to it.

 Note: You must click Assign Tool. If you only click OK, the user tool is not assigned. 

User Tool Assigned to display View the item to which you assigned the user tool.

 

Button name Click the button to...
List All Open the Assigned User Tools window to view all currently assigned user tools and their default descriptions.
Unassign Tool Select a user tool in the Current User Tools box to unassign it.
Modify Description Open the Modify Description window to change the description for the selected user tool.
Assign Tool Assign the selected user tool to the selected item.

 Caution:

  • You must use this button to assign a user tool. If you only click OK, the user tool is not assigned. After you click Assign Tool, the OK button becomes a Close button.
  • If you assign a second user tool to an item, without unassigning the first, both user tools remain assigned to the same item. Select the first and click Unassign Tool if desired.
OK or Close
  • OK - Close the User Tools window without assigning a user tool.
  • Close - Once you click Assign Tool, the OK button becomes a Close button. Click to close the window.
Cancel Cancel any changes you made since you last clicked the Assign Tool button, and close the window.

 

  • Was this article helpful?