Skip to main content
OCLC Support

I am unfamiliar with a barcode being 'deprecated', what does that mean?

Applies to
  • WorldShare Circulation
Answer

When you add a barcode to a user's account in WorldShare Circulation, the old barcode is not automatically deleted. It instead becomes inactive and is still associated with the user account. You can review a user's deprecated barcodes in the diagnostics section of a user profile in WorldShare Admin.

Deprecation.png

Additional information

Information for how to release or permanently delete deprecated barcodes can be found in our instructions to Edit patron barcodesPlease note:  You can still check-in and check-out items using a depreciated barcode. To stop this from happening, for example in the case of a lost patron ID please Release the deprecated barcode in the Admin module after you have assigned a new barcode to the patron.

Page ID
14534