Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Back up local files automatically

Find out how to back up local files automatically in Connexion client.

By default, when you exit the client or change the default local file, the client backs up local files automatically in the same folder as the original file.

The client initially provides the following default backup files for the default local files:

  • DefaultBib.bib.db.bac
  • DefaultBibCD.bibcd.db.bac
  • DefaultAuth.auth.db.bac
  • DefaultAuthCD.authcd.db.bac

 Note: OCLC recommends keeping this default setting to protect your data in case a local file becomes unusable. You can restore data in a backed-up file by renaming it (see procedure below).

To check or change the option or to select a different location for the backup file:

  1. Navigate to File > Local File Manager > Auto Back Up.
  2. In the Automatically Back Up Local Files window, select one of the following options:
    • Do not back up local files - Not recommended. If this setting is necessary, please back files up manually.
    • Back up to same folder as original file (default) - Automatically creates a backup file in the same folder using the same file name as the original, but with the additional file extension *.bac.
      Example: DefaultBib.bib.db.bac
    • Back up local files to [...] - Select a different folder to store all backup files: Click Browse to navigate to the folder you want to use.
      • Once you select a location, the window displays the new full path name.
      • The client backs up all local files, no matter where they are located to the single folder you select.

     Caution: If your setting is for automatic backup to the same folder, and you create multiple local files of the same type located in different folders but with the same name, each time any one of the files is used as the default and backed up, existing data in the single backup file is overwritten, and you can lose backed-up data from one of the other files.

  3. When you are finished, perform one of the following options:
    1. Click OK to save your setting.
    2. Click Cancel to restore the former setting.

 

  • Was this article helpful?