Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Prompts to save edited records

Find the prompts Connexion client delivers when you are saving edited records.

If you log off without saving workforms or edited records, or if you close a workform or an edited unsaved record, the system asks if you want to save changes. You get a separate prompt for each open, unsaved edited record or workform.

Depending on the origin of the record and whether you are online or offline, the client prompts you as follows:

If edited record or workform is from ... And you are ... The client prompts you to save to ...
Local save file Logged on or offline Local save file
Online save file Logged on Online save file
WorldCat Logged on Local save file or online save file

If asked to save to the online save file, or if asked to save to the local save file, click Yes to save the record(s).

  • The client saves the record and closes it if you save to the local file.
  • If you save to the online file, the client closes the record and gives you the bibliographic save file number.
  • When you have responded to all open records, the client logs you off.

Click No to log off and discard unsaved changes.

If asked to save to either the online or local save file, click Online or click Offline to save to the online save file or the local save file, respectively.

  • The client saves the record and closes it if you save to the local file.
  • If you save to the online file, the client closes the record and gives you the bibliographic save file number.
  • When you have responded to all open records, the client logs you off.

Click Close to close the record and discard unsaved changes.

See Save bibliographic records for more information about saving records.