Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Patron Settings

Patron Account Management

This setting turns on patron approval. If you turn on patron approval, you will need to manually approve patrons in the system in order for them to place interlibrary loans. Borrowing requests from patrons who are placing interlibrary loan requests for the first time will be routed to the New for Review queue for approval. For details on approving patrons, see Approve patrons.

patron_account_management_on.png

To select your Patron Account Management setting:

  1. Select the On check box to require approval for new interlibrary loan patrons.
  2. Optionally, deselect the On check box to turn off patron approval.
  3. Click Save.

Patron Request Management

Use these settings to determine what actions patrons can take in the User portal and whether their due date should occur sooner than the lender's due date. For details on how these settings display in the user portal, see Interlibrary Loan Requests.

patron_request_management

Setting Description

Allow patrons to renew ILL requests online

This setting turns on interlibrary loan renewals. When turned on, patrons can renew their interlibrary loan requests through the user portal. The Renew button displays in the user portal when the user portal status is Due [date] where the request has not yet reached the Patron Due Date. When the patron places a renewal request, the request goes directly to the lending library for review.

Once the request has surpassed the Patron Due Date, the renew button will no longer be available.  Staff will still be able to renew material for the user in the staff interface. For more information on statuses, see ILL statuses.

To allow patrons to renew requests:

  1. Select the On check box.
  2. Click Save.

Allow patrons to cancel ILL requests online

This setting turns on interlibrary loan cancellations. When turned on, patrons can cancel their interlibrary loan requests through the user portal. The cancel button displays in the user portal when the user portal status is Submitted. For more information on statuses, see ILL statuses.

To allow patrons to cancel requests:

  1. Select the On check box.
  2. Click Save.

Number of days to offset patron's due date

This setting allows you to determine whether the patron's due date should occur before the lender's due date. For example, if you select 2 days and the lender wants their item back on the 3rd of the month, the patron's due date will be on the 1st. The default is 0 days.

To offset the patron's due date:

  1. From the list, select the number of days you want to offset the patron's due date.
  2. Click Save.

The offset date will appear to patrons in the User Portal and their notifications.

Number of active requests allowed per patron

This setting allows you to limit patrons' active requests to a number from 1-500. Active requests include items in the borrowing, document delivery and purchasing queues. Note: Expired or unfilled requests close after seven system days. Canceled requests are immediately closed.

For example, if you enter the number 5, each of your patrons will be limited to 5 active requests. If they have 5 active requests, they will be unable to create or submit new requests. They will have to wait until one of their active requests has been completed or canceled in order to submit new requests.

To limit patrons' active requests:

  1. Enter a number from 1-500. If you do not want to limit requests, leave the field blank.
  2. Click Save.

Patron Data Retention

Determine how long to retain patron data after a request is closed.  The default period for retaining patron data on closed requests is one month.  You can specify between 1 and 60 months to retain this information.

 Note: Patron data is not currently encrypted in the database.

After a request has been closed for the specified retention period:

  • Patron data is purged from the request.
  • Staff will no longer be able to search by Patron Name or Patron ID when retrieving closed requests.
  • Patrons will not see their closed requests in the User Portal.

The patron data will be retained in the request for the amount of time specified at the time the request closes.  Altering this setting after the request has already closed will not change the amount of time the data is retained for that request.   ​​​​

tipasa_data_retention.png

  • Was this article helpful?