Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Modify Description

Find out how to access and use the Modify Description window in Connexion client.

Purpose of the Modify Description window

  • Change the description of an assigned user tool. The description appears on the user tool menu list and as the pop-up tool tip when the cursor is over the toolbar button for the user tool.

Access the Modify Description window

  1. Navigate to Tools > User Tools > Assign or press <Alt><T><T><A>.
    Or
    Click the arrow in the User Tools quick tool on the toolbar and click Assign.
  2. Select a character, macro, menu item, or text string list.
  3. Select an item in the list that has an assigned user tool.
  4. Click Modify Description.
  5. Edit the description and click OK.

See more about how to assign a character, macro, menu item, or text string to a user tool.

Modify Description window: Features and buttons

Feature How to use
Description text field Highlight the default description of the selected, assigned user tool and replace with a new description.

The description appears in:

 Note: The number of characters in a description is unlimited, but short descriptions are recommended for ease of display in the user tool menu and the tool-tip pop-up.

Default: The client assigns the definition of the user tool, as shown in the list of assigned user tools, as the default. To view the list of user tools assigned and their definitions, in the User Tools window, click List All.

Example:


You assign a user tool to the File, Local File Manager menu item, and the client assigns Menu Item FileLocalFileManager as the definition and default description.

You change the description to Open Local File Manager. 

Click here to see results:

  • The text Open Local File Manager appears in:
    • Tools > User Tools list or the quick tool list.
    • The tool-tip that pops up when you put the cursor over the toolbar button for the user tool.
  • The definition in the List All list of assigned user tools does not change (remains Menu Item FileLocalFileManager).

 

Button name Click the button to...
OK Apply the settings you entered and close the window. You return to the User Tools window.
Cancel Cancel any changes you made and close the window. You return to the User Tools window.

 

  • Was this article helpful?