Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Create search profiles

A search profile is a group of searchable collections. OCLC has provided at least one default profile that is available to all your users, whether they are logged in or not. Once you are logged in to NRE/VDX, more profiles may be available to you. Profiles followed by [shared] were created for your NRE/VDX system by a system administrator. The shared profiles are generally available to all users and cannot be changed except by the system administration.

A user can create personal profiles to suite his individual needs.

To create a new profile or modify a profile you created previously, click Profiles from the top menu.

The Search Profile Manager screen will be displayed. Any search profiles previously created by the user will be shown under My Search Profiles. The search profiles which are available to all users of your NRE/VDX system are shown under Shared Search Profiles. A shared search profile can only be changed by the user who created it.

To create a new search profile, click Create.

You need to give your profile a name. Enter the details of the search profile in the Description field.

Select the collection or collections to be included in your search profile by clicking the check boxes.

Collections with a plus sign (+) indicate that it is a collection of other collections. By selecting that collection, you automatically select all of its components. Click the plus sign (+) to expand the list of component collections to select one or more individually.

Once you have selected your preferred list of collections, click the Create button to save your profile.

The new profile will be accessible from Current Profiles drop-down in both the Standard and Advanced Search.

To modify an existing profile, select the Search Profile to be modified and click Edit.

You will then be presented with the list of collections, from which you may select new collections and/or deselect previously selected collections.

 Note: Next time the user logs into NRE/VDX, the last profile searched in the previous session is selected by default.

 

  • Was this article helpful?