Skip to main content
OCLC

Room Configuration

This topic describes the Room Configuration screen in Service Configuration. The Room Configuration screen allows you to create rooms that you can use with the Room Scheduling component in WorldShare Circulation. See Create a new room for more information.

If this is your first time using the Room Scheduling feature, see Set up room scheduling for instructions on how to set up room scheduling.

Create a new room

On the Room Configuration screen, you can create rooms to use with the Room Scheduling component in WorldShare Circulation. You should create a room for every room at your institution that can be reserved.

  1. Sign in to Service Configuration.
  2. On the left navigation, click WMS Circulation > Room Configuration.
  3. On the Room Configuration screen, click Create New.
  4. On the Create New Room screen, fill in the fields:
    1. Room Name: Name of the room (100 character limit)
    2. Branch: Branch location of the room
    3. Location: Location of the room in your institution (e.g., first floor, 2nd level) (100 character limit)
    4. Capacity: The number of people who can use the room at one time (5 character limit)
    5. Equipment: Any equipment that comes with the room (2500 character limit)
    6. Notes: Any additional notes (2500 character limit)
    7. Picture URL: A photo of the room. Enter the URL of the image. (2000 character limit)
    8. Pre-Schedule Setup Period: If you would like to have some time before all events created to set up the room, enter the time in minutes. During this time, the room cannot be reserved. For example, if you enter 30 minutes and create an event that starts at 10:00 am, any event created before this event could only be booked up until 9:30 am.
    9. Post-Schedule Inspection Period: If you would like to have some time after all events to inspect the room, enter the time in minutes. During this time, the room cannot be reserved. For example, if you enter 60 minutes, and you create an event that goes until 11:00 am, if you wanted to create another event directly after, it would have to begin at 12:00 pm.
  5. Click Save.

Copy, edit, or delete a room

Once you have created rooms for the Room Scheduling feature, you can copy, edit, or delete them on the Room Configuration screen in Service Configuration.

Copy a room

If you want to use similar configurations to a room you have already created, you can copy it.

  1. Sign in to Service Configuration.
  2. On the left navigation, click WMS Circulation > Room Configuration.
  3. On the Room Configuration screen, click the Room Name you want to copy.
  4. In the top right corner, click Copy. The copied configuration appears.
  5. Enter a Room Name and Branch, and edit any additional fields.
  6. Click Save.

Edit a room

You can edit your room configurations at any time.

  1. Sign in to Service Configuration.
  2. On the left navigation, click WMS Circulation > Room Configuration.
  3. On the Room Configuration screen, click the Room Name you want to edit.
  4. Edit any fields.
  5. Click Save.

Delete a room

You can delete any rooms you have created.

  1. Sign in to Service Configuration.
  2. On the left navigation, click WMS Circulation > Room Configuration.
  3. On the Room Configuration screen, click the Room Name you want to delete.
  4. In the top right corner, click Delete.
  5. On the Confirm window, click OK.
  • Was this article helpful?