Skip to main content
OCLC Support

Levels of collection strength

In the profile, the Research Libraries Group (RLG) Conspectus system is used to categorize levels of collection strength.

Description of the RLG Conspectus system

A description of the RLG Conspectus system and definitions of its levels are available at

The following levels of collection strength are used in the profile. The default level value is 1. None or Minimal Information. You should change the default value for areas of your institution's collection that have a strength level of 2 or greater.

  1. None or Minimal Information (combines RLG levels 0. Out-of-Scope and 1. Minimal Level)
  2. Basic Information
  3. Instructional Support
  4. Research
  5. Comprehensive


  • Was this article helpful?