Reasons to remove a KB record
The following are some reasons to remove a record from a KB:
- It is not appropriate for the KB.
- It duplicates another record in the KB.
- It is out of date and you want to add another record to replace it.
Who can remove a KB record?
Only KB editors can remove a record from a KB. Any KB editor can mark a record for removal (Delete button). Only an editor with Edit/Delete KB privileges can remove a record (Purge button) that has been marked for removal.
If you are the librarian who added a record, you cannot remove the record (unless you are a KB editor). However, you can edit the record if it still has Inactive status. You can add a note in the Question field to ask an editor to remove it.
Or, you can request removal of a record.
Remove a KB record
- If you are a KB editor, click Delete on the Record Detail page.
QuestionPoint changes the record status to Delete Pending and replaces the Delete button with an Undo Delete button and a Purge button. (The Purge button appears only when an editor with Edit/Delete privileges views the record.)
- If you are a KB editor with Edit/Delete KB privileges, click Purge on the Record Detail page. (The Purge button may be clicked immediately after the Delete button or at a later time.)
QuestionPoint removes the record and displays a confirming message.
Find KB records with Delete Pending status
A KB editor with Edit/Delete KB privileges can remove records that have Delete Pending status.
KB editors can browse records that have Delete Pending status.
- For the Folder browse criteria, select Delete Pending.
- For Knowledge Base, uncheck the boxes for the KBs for which you are not an editor.
If a KB editor decides not to remove a record that has Delete Pending status, the editor clicks the Undo Delete button on the Record Detail page. QuestionPoint returns the record to its previous status.